World Heritage Lists the Dolomites and Wadden Sea as Its Newest Natural Wonders

dolomites photo
Migrated Image

The Dolomites and the Wadden Sea, have deservingly been nominated as World Heritage Foundation sites. See what makes them it so wonderous. The Dolomites in Italy and the Wadden Sea in Germany are now the world's newest natural wonders of the world listed by World Heritage Foundation. It takes years for the World Heritage Foundation to come to such conclusions but it's not surprising why these two sites have been chosen.

The Dolomites
The Dolomites in Italy were added to the World Heritage List due to their outstanding natural beauty and the geological significance of their limestone formations. The Dolomites are a portion of the Alps located in Italy which extend from the Adige River to the Piave Valley. Known for their spectacular limestone walls and the immortalized fossil record that tells the tales of what once was. The fossil record illustrates the 200 million year history of the mountains.

The Wadden Sea
The Wadden Sea is located at the southeastern part of the north sea and it's known to be the largest unbroken system of inter-tidal sand and mud flats in the world. It is home to 6.1 million birds present at any one time more than 400,000 breeding pairs and an average of 10 to 12 million birds which pass through every year according to World Heritage. The diversity in wildlife is a result of the considerable mud flats that run throughout the area.

More Green Wonders of the World:
Green Wonders of the World by BusinessWeek
Rarest Cat in the World Photographed in the Wild
The World's Most Endangered Destinations, Monument Division