Vegan Guide to White Castle: The Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More

From sliders to breakfast, White Castle covers its vegan bases.

white castle vegan

Food images courtesy of White Castle. Illustration by Catherine Song.

For a whopping 100 years, White Castle has remained an American fast-food staple. Known for its bite-sized burgers called Sliders, White Castle introduced the Veggie Slider back in 2014 and continues to make strides with vegan-friendly options. In 2015, the company announced their buns were vegan-friendly, and in 2018 White Castle became the first fast-food chain to put Impossible Burgers on Sliders across the country.

If you’re craving vegan grub on the go, we’ll help you order up a White Castle vegan burger in no time flat.

Our Top Picks

Check out our favorite orders to make your next trip to White Castle a vegan dream.

The Impossible Slider

Make your Impossible Slider vegan by simply removing the cheese (or swapping it for vegan cheese, if they offer it at your location). Top your Slider with onion and pickle slices, just like all of White Castle’s Sliders.

If you want to get fancy, add tomato and lettuce, then top it off with your vegan sauce of choice: ketchup, mustard (yellow, Dusselford, and Horseradish), Smoky BBQ Sauce, or Everything Sauce (available at select locations).

Veggie Slider - Plain

Made with Dr. Praeger’s Veggie Patty, order yours plain (no topping), then add ketchup and mustard or order a vegan sauce on the side to dip your Slider. Pile on the lettuce, tomato, pickle and onions for more veggie goodness.

Treehugger Tip

Nothing accompanies a vegan burger better than a fried side, but when you’re at White Castle, pass on the Onion Chips as they contain egg and dairy. Opt instead for White Castle’s crinkle-cut French fries and classic Onion Rings (in all locations outside of New York and New Jersey).

Vegan Sliders

For a fairly small menu size, having not one but two vegan slider options is pretty darn cool.

  • The Impossible Slider (Order without cheese and your choice of toppings and sauce.)
  • Veggie Slider - Plain (Order with no topping, then add your veggies and sauces of choice.)

Vegan Sides

The following sides at White Castle contain no animal products; however, the chain's website notes that all their fried sides are prepared in common areas and/or on shared equipment with non-vegan food, so cross-contamination is possible.

  • Fries
  • Onion Rings (in locations outside of New York and New Jersey)
  • Mott's Snack and Go Natural Applesauce Pouch

Vegan Breakfast

When it comes to vegan breakfast options at burger joints, White Castle leads the charge. You can get yourself a complete vegan morning meal.

  • Hash Round Nibblers
  • Wheat Toast (Smear on some Strawberry or Grape Jelly, or dip it in Mrs. Butterworth’s Syrup.)
  • Coffee (regular and decaf)
  • Hot Tea
  • Minute Maid Orange Juice (at select locations)
  • Motts 100% Apple Juice

Vegan Sauces

Since the White Castle Sliders are served pretty clean, you can gussy yours up with their selection of vegan-friendly condiments and dipping sauces.

  • Hot Sauce
  • Marinara
  • Ketchup
  • Yellow Mustard
  • Dusseldorf Mustard
  • Horseradish Mustard
  • Smokey BBQ Sauce
  • Everything Sauce (select locations)
  • Seafood Cocktail Sauce
  • Lemon Juice

Vegan Beverages

Hot or cold, White Castle has an array of vegan-friendly drink selections.

  • Coffee (regular and decaf)
  • Hot Tea
  • Iced Unsweetened and Southern Sweet Tea
  • Crave Cooler Coke and Fanta Wild Cherry
  • Soft Drinks
  • Bottled Beverages
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Is the White Castle Impossible Burger vegan?

    If you order it without the cheese, the Impossible Slider is vegan. White Castle's burger bun is vegan, as is the Impossible Burger itself. The Slider is prepared on a separate griddle, but because it’s prepared in a shared kitchen, White Castle can’t guarantee that your meal will be 100% vegan.

  • Where can I buy the White Castle Veggie Slider frozen?

    Check your local grocery store to see if they carry this vegan-friendly freezer classic.

  • Are the onion rings at White Castle vegan?

    In New York and New Jersey, White Castle’s Onion Rings are not vegan, but they are vegan in other locations. The Onion Chips, however, contain dairy and are not vegan, no matter where you’re dining.

  • Does White Castle have vegan cheese?

    The answer depends on your location. If you’re in New York or New Jersey, you might find GOOD PLANeT Food vegan cheese on the menu.

  • Does White Castle have vegan desserts?

    Much to our disappointment, there is no vegan Cake-on-a-Stick or any other White Castle dessert.