Home & Garden Home Vegan Guide to Shake Shack: Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More From the Veggie Shack to refreshing drinks, Shake Shack has vegans covered. By Gia Mora Gia Mora Facebook Twitter Writer and Quality Team Editor University of Colorado University of Pisa Gia is a writer, performer, and producer who has written extensively about veganism, food waste, and sustainable living. Learn about our editorial process Updated January 25, 2022 Treehugger / Photo Illustration by Catherine Song / Shake Shack Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand Top Pick: Veggie Shack Fries Drinks Beer Breakfast Frequently Asked Questions A new kid in the quick-service restaurant game, Shake Shack opened in 2004 in New York City's Madison Square Park. Their classic hamburgers, hot dogs, shakes, and frozen custard, along with their more modern offerings of wine and beer, made the chain an instant hit. Shake Shack now has locations across the globe. Finding a satisfying vegan meal here can be tricky, but since the arrival of the Veggie Shack, a vegan patty available at select Shake Shack locations, it's gotten a little easier. Let us guide you through the rest of the menu to find the best vegan options available. Treehugger Tip Steer clear of the 'Shroom Burger. While Shake Shack's vegetarian fried portobello mushroom burger looks like a tempting vegan option, that mushroom is stuffed with cheese, making it non-vegan. Top Pick: Veggie Shack Since 2018, select Shake Shacks across the country have offered the Veggie Shack, a vegan patty made with greens, grains, and herbs, then topped with avocado, vegan lemon aioli, roasted tomato, and shredded lettuce. Make it vegan by asking your server to remove the cheese and swap the non-vegan sauce for a vegan sauce (depending on what your location offers). Exchange the non-vegan Martin's Potato Bun for a vegan gluten-free bun or lettuce wrap. You can also add some pickles or cherry peppers if you're in the mood. The only other "burger" option at Shake Shack is the Veggie Shack without the patty—vegetables and sauce only. Again, choose either the gluten-free bun or lettuce wrap. Vegan Fries Without the bacon, hot honey, or cheese, Shake Shake's Fries are vegan—although keep in mind that the fryer may be shared with non-vegan items. The dipping sauce choices at Shake Shack are limited because even the barbeque sauce contains milk and eggs. Order your fries with extra salt, ketchup, and/or mustard instead. Vegan Drinks Unique to Shake Shack is its homemade lemonade. Combined with a variety of flavors, this vegan-friendly drink menu sets Shake Shack apart from other fast-food chains. Lime Agave LemonadePiña PunchWatermelon Mint LimeadeWinterades (seasonal drink offerings that combine lemonade with holiday flavors like cranberry, pomegranate, and apple cider) Fountain Drinks Vegan Beer You read that correctly: Shake Shake's namesake beer, The Brooklyn Shackmeister Ale, is indeed vegan. Instead of using animal products like egg whites, isinglass, and gelatin to filter and clarify the beer, Brooklyn Brewing Company uses a vegan-friendly Biofine Clear made from silicic acid. Shake Shack also has their own line of wines, but we are unable to confirm that these, too, are vegan. Make sure to check with your location. Vegan Breakfast There are slim pickings when it comes to vegan breakfast options at Shake Shack. Fortunately, you are still able to get your caffeine and juice fix by ordering a coffee or orange juice. Frequently Asked Questions Are Shake Shack's shakes vegan-friendly? No, and none of Shake Shack's shakes, floats, and frozen custards are able to be made vegan. Does Shake Shack have an Impossible Burger? Shake Shack does not have an Impossible Burger on the menu, nor do they have any meat alternatives. The modified Veggie Shack is your next best option. Can I modify another Shake Shack burger to make it vegan? If you're ordering in person, you probably can request modifications to another Shake Shack burger. But if you're ordering online, it may be tricky to remove or swap the patty. The best and safest way to make sure your meal is vegan is to order the Veggie Shack with our recommended vegan modifications.