Home & Garden Home Vegan Guide to Girl Scouts Cookies: 4 Vegan Varieties Good news: Some of your favorite Girl Scouts cookies are vegan. By Hayley Bruning Hayley Bruning Associate Editor Ramapo College of New Jersey Hayley Bruning has worked as a staff writer, editor, proofreader, and marketing assistant. Her focuses include veganism, sustainable food, and agriculture. Learn about our editorial process Published February 24, 2022 Treehugger / Photo Illustration by Catherine Song / Girl Scouts Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism Beginning as a small service project in Muskogee, Oklahoma in 1917, the Girl Scouts Cookies Program has evolved to be the most significant and well-known part of the overall Girl Scouts organization. Every year, local councils organize a six- to eight-week selling period where customers can purchase some of the famous, delectable cookies, of which there are about a dozen. If you are new to veganism or are aiming to eat more plant-based foods, you may be under the assumption that Girl Scouts’ cookie season has nothing to offer you. But you’re in luck: Girl Scouts carries four vegan cookie varieties—and some of them might already be your favorites. Here are your vegan Girl Scouts cookie options this season. Thin Mints There's no need for vegans to give up this classic. Girl Scouts' signature chocolate peppermint cookie does not contain milk, eggs, or any non-vegan ingredients. The thin, crispy cookie is coated in a layer of fresh mint chocolate. And have you tried them frozen on a warm day? It’s our favorite way to cool down. Peanut Butter Patties Most peanut butter is vegan, but not all peanut butter products are vegan. So, we were thrilled to learn that Girl Scouts’ Peanut Butter Patties do not contain any additional animal ingredients. This plant-based variety starts with a crispy cookie that is topped with a layer of peanut butter. The cookie is then dipped in a generous fudge coating. Treehugger Tip Make sure to order the Peanut Butter Patties from the manufacturer ABC Bakers and not the Tagalongs from Little Brownie Bakers. While they are almost identical, Tagalongs are not vegan because they contain whey, a milk ingredient. Lemonades Girl Scouts currently carries two lemon-flavored cookies: Lemonades and Lemon-Ups. While Lemon-Ups contain whey, Lemonades are free of animal-based ingredients and safe for vegans. Citrusy and refreshing, these crunchy shortbreads are coated with lemon icing. Toast-Yay! Added to Girl Scouts’ cookie collection in 2021, Toast-Yay! is a vegan, French-toast-inspired treat. The toast-shaped cookie is baked with cinnamon and maple syrup to give it its French-toast flavor. We aren’t sure about having these for breakfast, but to each their own—we're thinking about it, too. Treehugger Tip You can get your Girl Scouts cookies fix outside of cookie season. From store-bought ice cream to Dunkin Donuts specialty drinks, there are many products inspired by the classic cookie flavors. Make sure to check labels for non-vegan items and ask a worker or server if you have questions. Frequently Asked Questions Which Girl Scout cookies are vegan? There are currently four vegan Girl Scout cookie varieties: Thin Mints, Peanut Butter Patties, Lemonades, and Toast-Yay! cookies. Are Adventureful Girl Scout cookies vegan? Adventurefuls, brownie cookies with caramel cream and sea salt, are not vegan because they contain milk. Are Toast-Yay! Girl Scout cookies vegan? Yes! These toast-shaped, cinnamon sweet cookies do not contain animal products and are vegan. Are Do Si Dos vegan? Do Si Dos from both ABC Bakers and Little Brownie Bakers contain whey. If you're craving peanut butter, stick with Peanut Butter Patties, the only vegan peanut butter Girl Scouts cookie.