Vegan Guide to Auntie Anne’s: The Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More

Our guide reveals all of the plant-based items at your favorite mall chain.

Vegan guide to Auntie Anne's. Illo includes slushie, pretzel, and dips.

Treehugger / Photo Illustration by Catherine Song / Auntie Anne's

Do you remember that delicious, buttery smell that drew you inside your local mall for an afternoon of treats and retail therapy? Chances are that fresh-baked aroma came from an Auntie Anne’s.

Founded in 1988, Auntie Anne's has an allergen sheet that lets vegans know what on the menu is plant-based. And to our delight, many of their famous pretzels can be made vegan by ordering without butter. Here, we reveal every plant-based item at Auntie Annie's and our top ordering tips for vegans.

Best Bet: The Original Pretzel

You don’t always need a new twist to keep customers coming back for more. The very popular Original Pretzel is pure salty, vegan goodness. Just make sure to order without butter.

Vegan Pretzels

Some of the hot soft pretzels are off-limits to plant-based eaters—specifically, the ones made with dairy or a hot dog that cannot be made vegan. However, many of Auntie Anne’s all-time bestsellers are vegan as long as you ask for no butter. Here, we have a nice variety of sweet, salty, and spicy.

  • The Original Pretzel
  • Toasted Almond Crunch
  • Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel
  • Jalapeno Pretzel
  • Raisin Pretzel

Vegan Pretzel Nugget Bites

The Pretzel Nuggets give you all of the fun of the classic pretzels in a fun, sharable size. Again, be sure to have your server hold the butter.

  • Original Soft Pretzel Nugget Bites
  • Cinnamon Sugar Soft Pretzel Nugget Bites

Vegan Dips

Take your pretzel experience to the next level with one of Auntie Anne's vegan dips. You have the option of one sweet, one savory to pair with your pretzel or bites.

  • ​Marinara Sauce (a savory, earthy tomato-based sauce)
  • ​Sweet Glaze Dip (a velvety, brown-sugar-based dip)

Treehugger Tip

If a side of cheesy dipping sauce was a part of your happy childhood memories of Auntie Anne's, you can fill that void with plant-based versions of the old favorite. Daiya, Siete Cashew Queso, or Good Foods dips are often available at your local supermarkets.

Vegan Drinks

There are plenty of options in the drinks department. Choose your favorite fountain beverage or one of Auntie Anne's fruity quenchers.

  • Coca-Cola
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Frozen Lemonade
  • Iced Tea 
  • Lemonade Mixers
  • Mango Beverages
  • Pina Colada Beverages
  • Strawberry Beverages
  • Blue Raspberry Beverages
  • Wild Cherry Beverages
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Does Auntie Anne's have anything vegan?

    Yes! Many of their classic pretzels and pretzel nuggets can be made vegan by ordering them without butter.

  • Do Auntie Anne's pretzels contain egg?

    Auntie Anne's warns that their products may contain trace amounts of eggs due to cross-contamination. However, their classic pretzels and pretzel nuggets are not made with eggs.

  • Are Auntie Anne's Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel Nuggets vegan?

    The Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel Nuggets can be made vegan by requesting no butter.