Home & Garden Home Vegan Guide to Taco Bell: Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More Great news: Going vegan doesn't mean giving up Taco Bell. By Gia Mora Gia Mora Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Writer Gia is a performer, writer, and producer who has written extensively about veganism, food waste, and green and low-consumption living. Learn about our editorial process Published September 14, 2021 Food images courtesy of Taco Bell. Illustration by Catherine Song. Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand Our Top Picks Tacos Burritos Fries Sides Desserts FAQ Known for satisfying the late-night munchies, Taco Bell has long been a drive-thru, Mexican-inspired fast food staple for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. These days, Taco Bell has expanded its menu to also welcome vegans, making it easier than ever to modify your order. Even classic menu items like Soft and Crunchy Tacos can be made vegan in a snap. With just a few adjustments, you can easily create a delicious vegan meal ready to eat anytime, anywhere. Here, we share our favorite vegan orders at Taco Bell and give you the lowdown on how to customize your next meal. Make It Fresco Style Replace dairy and mayo-based sauces with tomatoes in two simple words: Fresco Style. Just look for the green V to indicate an item is vegetarian, then order it Fresco Style to make it vegan. That's it! You can also modify non-vegan items by adjusting the other ingredients then selecting Fresco Style to ensure all other dairy is removed. Our Top Picks Whether you're looking to chow down on a meal or just need a quick snack, here are our top three vegan-friendly orders at Taco Bell. Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme A truly Taco Bell creation, this burrito-married-to-a-tostada ranks as our number one vegan pick because it's hearty and easy to order. Since it's a certified vegetarian item, you only need to order it Fresco Style to make it vegan. Gussy up your order by adding other vegan ingredients like onion, guacamole, jalapeños, refried beans, potatoes, rice, and red sauce. Need some extra kick? Try Taco Bell's sauce packets, all of which are also vegan. Power Menu Bowl - Veggie Want all the insides without the outside? Taco Bell's Power Menu Bowl - Veggie answers your wish. Although it's a certified vegetarian option, you can't order it Fresco Style. But you can easily make it vegan by removing the cheese, sour cream, and avocado ranch sauce. Adding onion, jalapeños, refried beans, potatoes, red sauce, or any of the sauce packets can turn this menu item into a brag-worthy custom vegan meal. Bean Burrito and Crunchy Taco Go old school with this vegan twist on two Taco Bell classics. Taco Bell's refried beans and black beans are certified vegan, and with this combo, you get to enjoy both. Order your Bean Burrito Fresco Style for vegan refried bean heaven. Go the extra mile and add onion—you'll thank us later. Get in on the crunch by replacing the beef on the Crunchy Taco with black beans and opting for Fresco Style to eliminate dairy. Vegan Tacos Go beyond the classics to explore Taco Bell's easy-to-make-vegan taco offerings. These adjustments work for single items as well as with combos. Make sure all are ordered vegetarian and Fresco Style, and get fancy by ordering a variety of vegan add-ons. Crunchy TacoSoft TacoChalupa SupremeBlack Bean ChalupaLoaded Black Bean Flatbread TacoSpicy Potato Soft Taco Vegan Burritos Simple and crave-worthy, turn your favorite food into vegan delight with just a couple of modifications. Make sure all are ordered Fresco Style and pile on the onions, jalapeños, and any other vegan ingredients of your choosing. Bean BurritoBlack Bean Loaded Taco Fries Burrito (Option to come grilled)Black Bean QuesaritoCheesy Bean and Rice Burrito (Option to come grilled) Try Our Favorites We like to order the Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme made Fresco Style with added guacamole and onions for our specialty item. For the classic item, we prefer the Spicy Potato Soft Tacos made Fresco Style with added onions and red strips for flavor and crunch. Vegan Fries Leave it to Taco Bell to add an entire category of fries to their Mexican-inspired fare. Get the best of both fast-food worlds and try their vegan fries. Seasoned FriesBlack Bean Loaded Taco Fries (Make it Fresco Style and add vegan ingredients)Hash Browns Vegan Sides In addition to the veggies and vegan sauces available, here are the other vegan side available at Taco Bell. Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes (Make it Fresco Style)Black BeansBlack Beans and RiceChips (Order them without the cheese) Vegan Desserts The Cinnamon Twists are the only vegan dessert option at Taco Bell, and that's just fine by us. Build Your Own My Cravings Box For a truly customized vegan meal at Taco Bell, order yourself a My Cravings Box with our vegan guide here. The box includes a specialty item, a classic item, a dessert, and a drink, all of which can be made vegan. FAQ Are bean burritos from Taco Bell vegan? Without modifications, some bean burritos at Taco Bell contain cheese. Make sure to make your burrito Fresco Style and ensure there are only vegan ingredients inside that tortilla. Does Taco Bell use vegan frying oil? Some Taco Bell restaurants use the same frying oil to prepare vegan and non-vegan menu items and can't guarantee that your food is 100% vegan. The chain notes this on their website, which puts them ahead of many restaurants. How do I order vegan Taco Bell? When ordering Taco Bell through any digital interface, you can look for any options that feature a green V designating that item as certified vegetarian, then customize your selection using Fresco Style to make it vegan. At an in-restaurant kiosk, just click Veggie Mode to display 25 certified vegetarian Taco Bell options, then order your selection Fresco Style to make them vegan. On the app or at TacoBell.com, look for the green V, then click Customize and scroll down to Styles, then select Make it Fresco. Are the Taco Bell Freezes vegan? Yes. All of the Taco Bell Freeze flavors, including the fan-favorites Mountain Dew Baja Blast and Blue Raspberry, are vegan. Does Taco Bell have plant-based meat? No. As one of the vanguards of plant-based options in fast-casual dining, we hope to see a vegan meat substitute on Taco Bell's menu soon.