Home & Garden Home Vegan Guide To Five Guys: The Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More While Five Guys doesn't offer plant-based burgers, the fries are totally vegan. By Kate Bratskeir Kate Bratskeir Writer Skidmore College Kate Bratskeir is a journalist and the author of "A Pocket Guide to Sustainable Food Shopping." She previously worked as a senior food editor at Mic and covered sustainability, mental health, psychology and nutrition at HuffPost. Her work has appeared in Vox, Fast and Co. and more. Learn about our editorial process Updated January 25, 2022 Treehugger / Photo Illustration by Catherine Song / Five Guys Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand Entrees Dipping Sauces Fries Nibbles Drinks Toppings Frequently Asked Questions Five Guys is beloved for its free peanuts and tasty fries. The chain doesn't offer a plant-based burger yet, so the vegan options are limited. However, with some ingenuity, you can put together a solid vegan meal at Five Guys. (And thankfully, the fries are vegan!) Here's our guide to eating vegan at Five Guys. Vegan Entrees The only entree that can be made vegan is the veggie sandwich. The sandwich fillings are all vegan (grilled onions, mushrooms, green peppers, lettuce, and tomatoes), but the bun is made with milk and eggs. To make the sandwich vegan, you'll need to ask for a lettuce wrap or a bowl instead of a bun. You can also dress it up with some of the vegan dipping sauces. Treehugger Tip Five Guys makes it clear that grilled vegetables are cooked on the same grill as the burgers. If cross-contamination is a concern for you, ask for raw veggies instead. Vegan Dipping Sauces Ketchup isn't the only vegan option for pairing with your vegan fries at Five Guys. Here's where you can experiment with flavor. A1 Original Steak SauceBBQ SauceHot SauceKetchupMustardRelish Vegan Fries Five Guys' fries are a simple recipe that includes fresh-cut potatoes cooked in 100% peanut oil. Both the Five Guys Style fries and the Cajun Style fries are vegan-friendly. The Five Guys Style fries are seasoned with salt, and Cajun Style fries are seasoned with garlic, salt, onion, paprika, oregano, white pepper, red pepper, and spice. Vegan Nibbles Something unique about Five Guys? The chain serves its customers shelled peanuts for free. Since the vegan pickings at Five Guys are slim, we say it's fair to fill up on these. Vegan Drinks While Five Guys serves milkshakes, the chain has yet to introduce a vegan version to the menu. In the meantime, you can sip on the vegan soft drinks and juices, which tend to be Coca-Cola products but can vary by location. Vegan Toppings While there aren't any salads on the Five Guys menu, there's no reason you can't request a host of toppings to make your own. Veganism and creativity so often go hand-in-hand. LettuceTomatoesPicklesGrilled OnionsGrilled MushroomsKetchupMustardRelishOnionsJalapeño PeppersGreen Peppers Frequently Asked Questions Are Five Guys fries vegan? Yes, both the Five Guys Style fries and the Cajun Style fries are vegan. Is the Five Guys Veggie Sandwich vegan? The veggie sandwich fillings are vegan, but the bun is not. Order the sandwich with a lettuce wrap or bowl instead of a bun to make it vegan. Is the bread at Five Guys vegan? No, the hamburger buns at Five Guys are not vegan because they contain egg and dairy. You can ask for a lettuce wrap or a bowl instead of a bun.