Home & Garden Home Vegan Guide To Five Guys: The Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More While Five Guys doesn't offer plant-based burgers, the fries are totally vegan. By Kate Bratskeir Kate Bratskeir Writer Skidmore College Kate Bratskeir is a journalist and the author of "A Pocket Guide to Sustainable Food Shopping." She previously worked as a senior food editor at Mic and covered sustainability, mental health, psychology and nutrition at HuffPost. Her work has appeared in Vox, Fast and Co. and more. Learn about our editorial process Published September 28, 2021 Food images courtesy of Five Guys. Illustration by Catherine Song. Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand Fries Dipping Sauces Nibbles Drinks Toppings There have been some truly incredible developments in the world of plant-based burgers. Unfortunately, some chains, like Five Guys, have been slow to catch on. So if you're stopping at a Five Guys, you won't be able to order any sort of vegan patty on a bun. But not all is lost: The restaurant's fries are worth a stop alone, and, thank goodness, they're vegan. Five Guys' first location opened in Arlington, Virginia in 1986. People love it for the burgers, the fries, and the free peanuts. Here, we reveal everything vegan on their menu. Treehugger Tip While Five Guys offers a selection of veggies that you might be tempted to order, be wary of cross-contamination—grilled veggies will be cooked on the same grill as the burgers. If for you, the risk of cross-contamination doesn't fly, you'll want to stick with raw veggies. Top Pick: Vegan Fries Five Guys' fries are a simple recipe that includes fresh-cut potatoes cooked in pure, no cholesterol, 100% peanut oil. Whether you choose the Five Guys Style (salt) or Cajun Style (garlic, salt, onion, paprika, oregano, white pepper, red pepper, and spice), you'll be getting vegan fries. Vegan Dipping Sauces Ketchup isn't the only vegan option for pairing with your vegan fries at Five Guys. Here's where you can experiment with flavor. A1 Original Steak SauceBBQ SauceHot SauceKetchupMustardRelish Vegan Nibbles Something unique about Five Guys? The chain serves its customers shelled peanuts for free. Since the vegan pickings at Five Guys are slim, we say it's fair to fill up on these. Vegan Drinks While Five Guys serves milkshakes, the chain has yet to introduce a vegan version to the menu. In the meantime, you can sip on the vegan soft drinks and juices, which tend to be Coca-Cola products but can vary by location. Treehugger Tip To make the veggie sandwich vegan, ask for no bun and for it to be wrapped in lettuce instead. Then, dress it up with some of the vegan dipping sauces. Vegan Toppings While there aren't any salads on the Five Guys menu, there's no reason you can't request a host of toppings to make your own. Veganism and creativity so often go hand-in-hand. LettuceTomatoesPicklesGrilled OnionsGrilled MushroomsKetchupMustardRelishOnionsJalapeño PeppersGreen Peppers Frequently Asked Questions Are Five Guys fries vegan? Yes. Five Guys' fries are cooked in peanut oil, which is entirely vegan. Is the Five Guys Veggie Sandwich vegan? The veggie sandwich is not vegan because the bun contains dairy and egg. You can order without the bun to make it vegan. Does Five Guys have a veggie burger? Five Guys does not have a veggie burger, but it does have a veggie sandwich. The sandwich is not vegan unless you order it without the bun. Is the bread at Five Guys vegan? No, the hamburger buns at Five Guys are not vegan because they contain egg and dairy. You'll need to forgo the bun (and patty) at Five Guys and rely on the fries and peanuts for sustenance.