Home & Garden Home Vegan Guide to Buffalo Wild Wings: Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More Here's how to choose vegan-friendly bar food, sauces, and wraps at BWW. By Kate Bratskeir Kate Bratskeir Writer Skidmore College Kate Bratskeir is a journalist and the author of "A Pocket Guide to Sustainable Food Shopping." She previously worked as a senior food editor at Mic and covered sustainability, mental health, psychology and nutrition at HuffPost. Her work has appeared in Vox, Fast and Co. and more. Learn about our editorial process Published August 27, 2021 Treehugger / Catherine Song Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand Build Your Own Vegan Meal Appetizers Burgers Sandwiches and Wraps Signature Sauces and Dry Seasonings Sides and Substitutions Greens and Dressings Beverages FAQs You know from its name alone that Buffalo Wild Wings isn’t exactly designed for vegan dining. It’s a restaurant mainly focused on chicken wings and, unfortunately, the restaurant’s fried food is cooked in beef shortening. Still, if you find yourself at this meat-loving sports bar, there are several ways to eat plant-based—from the avocado smash on a challah bun to plenty of crunchy veggies. Plus, if you’re willing to get a little crafty, you can find lots of flavor in the extensive list of vegan sauces. Ready to eat? Here's our guide to all the vegan options at Buffalo Wild Wings. Build Your Own Vegan Meal While options are limited, you can still get creative and build a substantial vegan dish at Buffalo Wild Wings. You’ll need to choose items from different sections of the menu. Here are two of our favorite crafty combinations: Order the Grilled Chicken Club Sandwich without chicken, cheese, bacon, and bacon aioli and swap fries for carrots and celery. You may be wondering what's left; this sandwich comes with an avocado smash, lettuce, and tomato on a challah bun. Dress everything up with a vegan sauce — try the Hot Jammin’ Jalapeño for an extra kick. Order the Garden Salad, with White Wine Vinaigrette without the cheese. Add a side of slaw and an avocado smash, then mix it all together. Vegan Appetizers There’s not much within the appetizer category that qualifies as vegan, since everything from the chips to the onion rings is fried in beef shortening. Buffalo Wild Wings offers guacamole as an addition to its Ultimate Nachos in some locations. The guacamole is vegan, so you can enjoy that with a serving with vegetables instead of chips. Vegan Burgers The Southwestern Black Bean Burger is not vegan, as it’s made with milk and eggs. That said, some locations offer a black bean burger patty as an add-on, and that alone is vegan. You can get this option on a challah bun. For vegan burger toppings, go for: Sauteed white onionAvocado smashKetchup Mustard Vegan Sandwiches and Wraps It’s possible to order some wraps on this menu as vegan, but you’ll need to ask the server if the tortilla contains egg (the wraps and tortillas at certain locations are egg-free). The breads for the sandwiches are vegan, so you can order with vegan fillings. Just make sure to specify no meat, cheese, or other dairy additives to your server (for example, the Grilled Chicken Buffalitos comes with crema, which should be avoided). Treehugger Tip Buffalo Wild Wings states that no items are certified gluten-free, vegetarian, or vegan and that cross-contamination is possible. So if you order some of the breads and tortillas, you might want to ask the server to keep the carbs off the grill. Vegan Signature Sauces and Dry Seasonings Choosing the right vegan sauce is your secret weapon for adding flavor. Dry seasonings might help, too. Fortunately, Buffalo Wild WIngs has many options: Sauces Asian Zing Blazin’ Carolina Reaper Caribbean Jerk Hot Jammin’ JalapeñoMango HabaneroSmoky AdoboSweet BBQTeriyaki Dry Seasonings Chipotle BBQ Seasoning Desert Heat Seasoning Lemon Pepper Seasoning Salt and Vinegar Seasoning Vegan Sides and Substitutions Here’s the menu section where you’ll find the most vegan options. Your picks include: Carrots and celery (order without ranch dressing)Garden Salad, with White Wine Vinaigrette (order without cheese)White rice (available in only some locations)Slaw (this is made with Napa cabbage, red cabbage, shredded carrots, and white wine vinaigrette)Mandarin oranges Vegan Greens and Dressings You’ll need to ask for a few omissions when it comes to the Buffalo Wild Wings salad section, but getting a vegan salad is entirely possible. Chopped Cobb Salad (order without chicken, bacon, hard-boiled egg, bleu cheese, or buffalo seasoning)White Wine Vinaigrette (this is the only vegan-friendly dressing on the menu) Vegan Beverages Buffalo Wild Wings may be best for vegan diners looking to wet their whistle. We’re happy to report that all of the drinks, from the sodas to the mocktails to the mixed drinks, are vegan (aside from the milk). This includes: Spirit-Free Strawberry Fizz Hibiscus Spritz Passionfruit Nojito Strawberry Lemonade Sodas and More Diet Pepsi Dr PepperMountain DewMugRoot Beer PepsiSierra MistTropicana Lemonade Unsweetened Iced Tea Sweet Tea Lipton Brisk Iced Tea Tropicana Pink Lemonade Coffee Izze Sparkling Juice, Blackberry Izze Sparkling Juice, Clementine Aquafina Bottled Water Mixers Q Ginger Beer Q Ginger Ale Q Tonic Q Club Soda Red Bull Red Bull SugarFree Cocktails, Wine, and Beer B-Dubs Bloody Mary B-Dubs Make It Wild Bloody Mary Berry Bash Blue Hawaiian Coconut Buffalo Trace Old FashionedClassic Mojito Deep Eddy Crush Hendrick’s G+T Henny Habanero House Margarita Hundo ‘Rita Longbranch Cream Soda Lucky GooseMezcal Margarita Old Fashioned Old No. 7 Lemonade Pineapple Mojito Platinum Margarita Ranch Water Red Bull Sunrise Red Sangria Spicy Passionfruit Margarita Tito’s Mule Top Shelf Long Island Ice Tea Chateau St. Michelle, Chardonnay Darkhorse, Rose Ecco Domani, Pinot Grigio Josh Cellars, Cabernet Sauvignon La Marca, Prosecco Mark West, Pinot Noir Pasmosa, Sangria Beer Cider FAQs Are the cauliflower wings at Buffalo Wild Wings vegan? The cauliflower wings — and all of BWW's other fried items — are fried in beef shortening, so they are not vegan. Is the black bean burger vegan at Buffalo Wild Wings? Because the Southwestern Black Bean Burger at Buffalo Wild Wings contains eggs, it is not vegan. Some Buffalo Wild Wings locations may offer a black bean burger patty that is vegan, so be sure to check at your local restaurant. Are fried pickles at Buffalo Wild Wings vegan? The fried pickles at Buffalo Wild Wings are not vegan because they are fried in beef shortening. They are also paired with ranch dressing, which contains eggs and milk. You might be able to request plain, unfried pickles from your server.