A Vegan's Guide to Ben and Jerry's: Best Menu Options, Swaps, and More

Ben and Jerry's

Photos courtesy of Ben and Jerry's. Illustration by Treehugger / Catherine Song

For a company known for its delicious ice cream, one might expect Ben and Jerry’s to be a challenging brand to navigate for vegans. However, this Vermont-based business actually has some pretty impressive plant-based values resulting in non-dairy versions of its classic flavors. The company has even partnered with Vegan Action to certify that the non-dairy ingredients don't include animal products of any kind, including eggs, dairy, or honey.

Ben and Jerry’s Climate Strategy

In addition to highlighting plant-based ingredients, Ben and Jerry’s is also committed to lowering its greenhouse gas footprint with its company-wide climate strategy. The company had its climate targets officially approved by the Science Based Targets Initiative in 2018, including goals to achieve 100% renewable energy by 2025, reduce greenhouse gas intensity by 40% by 2025, and reduce greenhouse gas intensity by 80% by 2050. In 2019, Ben and Jerry’s also eliminated all single-use plastics.

Our Top Picks

Ben and Jerry’s certainly has a lot to choose from when it comes to non-dairy desserts, so we’ve compiled a list of our top five favorite flavors that are available year-round.

Americone Dream

One of the company’s fan favorites recently got a vegan upgrade by swapping out cream and egg yolks for almond milk and chickpea flour. The ice cream itself has a vanilla base filled with fudge-covered waffle cone pieces and a swirl of caramel. Even better, every purchase of this flavor supports a wide range of charitable causes through The Stephen Colbert Americone Dream Fund, including organizations focused on the environment.

Netflix & Chilll’d

Packed with peanut butter ice cream, sweet and salty pretzel swirls, and fudge brownies, this flavor was (literally!) made for curling up on the couch with your favorite Netflix show. The vegan version has an almond milk and coconut oil base along with pea protein and tapioca starch.

Phish Food

Another classic Ben and Jerry’s flavor with a new vegan makeover, Phish Food is a chocolate lover’s dream with chocolate non-dairy ice cream, marshmallow swirls, caramel swirls, and fudge fish. Purchases support the charitable efforts of the WaterWheel Foundation, a Vermont-based organization (created by the rock band Phish) that focuses on causes including clean water and land conservation.

Mint Chocolate Cookie

A vegan take on the classic mint chocolate ice cream, Mint Chocolate Cookie is a simple-yet-delicious combination of mint flavored ice cream with chocolate sandwich cookies. This one has a base of sunflower milk, which is made using only water and roasted sunflower seeds.

Coconut Seven Layer Bar

With coconut ice cream, fudge chunks, walnuts, graham crackers, and swirls of caramel, Coconut Seven Layer Bar has a lot going on (in the best way possible). It’s flavored with coconut oil, pure coconut, and sesame seeds in a base of almond milk.

Vegan Ice Cream Flavors—Sunflower Butter

Ben and Jerry’s sunflower butter options are more limited, but they still offer four great flavors that cover various tastes.

  • Creme Brulee Cookie
  • “Milk” & Cookies
  • Mint Chocolate Cookie
  • Colin Kaepernick’s Change the Whirled

Vegan Ice Cream Flavors—Almond Milk

Almond milk is definitely the most popular non-dairy base at Ben and Jerry’s, but the company is adding new certified vegan ice cream flavors all the time.

  • Americone Dream
  • Karamel Sutra Core
  • Phish Food
  • The Tonight Dough
  • Caramel Almond Brittle
  • Cherry Garcia
  • Chocolate Caramel Cluster
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Cookie Dough Chunks
  • Chocolate Fudge Brownie
  • Chocolate Salted ‘n Swirled
  • Coconut Seven Layer Bar
  • Coffee Caramel Fudge
  • Netflix & Chilll’d
  • P.B. & Cookies
  • Peanut Butter Half Baked

Vegan Sorbet Flavors

Ben and Jerry’s does offer vegan sorbet flavors, though there is a catch. They are only available in their Scoop Shops and are subject to availability and season.

  • Berry Berry Extraordinary Sorbet
  • Lemonade Sorbet
  • Pineapple Passionfruit

FAQ

Is Ben and Jerry’s Vegan Ice Cream Gluten-Free?

There are three non-dairy flavors that are also certified gluten free: Karamel Sutra Core, Phish Food, and Cherry Garcia.

Are Ben and Jerry’s Vegan Ice Creams Fairtrade Certified?

Ben and Jerry’s has sourced five of its ingredients by fairtrade standards since 2015, including sugar, cocoa, vanilla, coffee, and bananas. 

Do Ben and Jerry’s Vegan Ice Creams Contain GMOs?

All of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream flavors are made with non-GMO sourced ingredients.

Does Ben and Jerry’s Make Vegan Ice Cream Cakes?

A select number of locations in the United States will make vegan ice cream cakes on request, so customers will need to contact their local Scoop Shops to inquire about certified vegan options.