Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards for 2008


The National Design Awards celebrate designers rather than design, honoring a body of work rather than a specific project. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Charles Harrison, who created over 750 products and became Chief Designer at Sears.


Tom Kundig of Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects won for architecture and design. We love his rolling huts, which get around planning laws that forbid permanent structures. See also the Montecito Residence by Olsen, Sundberg, Kundig Allen

Other winners:

design mind: michael beirut
corporate achievement: google, inc.
communication design: scott stowell
fashion design: ralph rucci
interior design: rockwell group
landscape design: olin partnership
product design: antenna design

Related Content on