Is Pita Bread Vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Choosing Vegan Pita Bread

Learn how to decipher vegan pita breads from those that contain animal ingredients.

is pita bread vegan photo illustration

Joshua Seong / Alexander Spatari / Getty Images

Pita bread is commonly featured in many Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cuisines, often serving as the base that ties a meal together. The basic recipe consists of four plant-based ingredients—flour, water, yeast, and salt—making pita bread vegan. Still, some store-bought pita pockets might include extra ingredients that a vegan may want to avoid.

Here, we look at why most pitas are vegan and what to look for in your next meal that includes this tasty bread.

Why Pita Bread Is Usually Vegan

As the two main ingredients in traditional pita bread recipes are flour and yeast, the bread is suitable for vegans. Salt or garlic may be added for flavor For most grocery-store plain pita breads, animal products are not included in the recipes.

Pita pockets are usually made by baking yeast and whole wheat flour at high temperatures, allowing the steam to form and expand the dough. This helps to create the pocket shape.

When Is Pita Bread Not Vegan?

While most pita bread is vegan, some products do include the use of milk, eggs, or honey—alternatives to the traditional plant-based recipe. To avoid non-vegan variations, make sure to check the ingredients list before consuming.

When ordering at a restaurant, look for a vegan label next to a pita-based dish or appetizer on the menu. If you don't see a vegan label, confirm the ingredients with your server. Note that while the pita bread may be vegan, other foods in the dish—such as a dairy-based sauce or cheese—may be off-limits for plant-based eaters. Many restaurants can make accommodations if needed.

Types of Vegan Pita Bread

Many of the most popular brands of pita bread will clearly display a vegan certification and ingredients right on the package. Here are reliable pockets you can place your fillings in with confidence.

  • Against the Grain Gluten-Free Pita Bread
  • Arnold
  • Bfree Vegan Gluten-Free Pita Breads
  • Ezekiel
  • Joseph's Original Pita Bread
  • La Tortilla Factory
  • Manna Organics
  • Mission Corn Tortillas
  • Nature’s Own
  • Papa Pita Greek Pita Flatbread
  • Rudi’s Organic
  • Thomas Bagel
  • Aldi
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Whole Foods 365
  • Engine 2

Types of Non-Vegan Pita Bread

Here's a non-exhaustive list of pita products that are not vegan. While some of those additives are part of the name, other packages need to be checked a little more carefully.

  • Breadsmith Honey Wheat Pita
  • Kangaroo Whole Wheat with Honey Pita Pockets
  • Kronos Frozen Honey Wheat Deli Style Flat Pita
  • Sam's Choice Greek Pita Whole Wheat (contains sugar of unknown origin)
  • Sam's Choice White Greek-Style Pita (contains cane sugar of unknown origin)
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Can vegans eat pita chips?

    Yes—assuming the pita chips are made with yeast, flour, water, and salt, and a plant-based oil is used to fry them, they are safe for vegans.

  • Does pita bread have egg?

    While pita bread does not traditionally include eggs, more modern recipes may add eggs, which makes the bread not vegan. Check the ingredients list to make sure.

  • Are pita and naan the same?

    No. Naan breads have a softer and more cushiony consistency than pita breads, with a more complex recipe of flour, water, yeast, and salt. Both vegan and non-vegan versions of these breads exist.