Home & Garden Home Is Maple Syrup Vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Choosing Vegan Maple Syrup Maple syrup is vegan—except when products include sneaky non-vegan ingredients. By Elyse Glickman Elyse Glickman Writer Elyse has nearly 20 years of experience in the field of food and drink writing and journalism. In addition to contributing to a variety of food, nutrition, and travel publications, she has developed and managed her own publication, Liquid Living, focused on home entertaining. Learn about our editorial process Updated April 14, 2022 Treehugger / Catherine Song Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand Why Maple Syrup Is Naturally Vegan When Is Maple Syrup Not Vegan? Types of Vegan Maple Syrup Types of Non-Vegan, Maple-Flavored Syrup Frequently Asked Questions In its purest form, maple syrup is indeed vegan. It is often enjoyed as a delicious substitute for other types of sugar as a breakfast food topping or baking ingredient. While many maple syrups are vegan, some take a different route between the tree and the table. Non-vegan elements can come into play during processing, creating a syrup that's perhaps maple flavored but no longer vegan. Here, we uncover the truth about our favorite syrup and its vegan status, as well as what to keep an eye for on maple syrup labels. Why Maple Syrup Is Naturally Vegan Maple sap is first is extracted, or tapped, from maple trees during the winter months in certain regions like New England and Quebec in North America. Once the sap is harvested, it is sent to a sugarhouse where it gets boiled down. The water is evaporated and the sugar caramelized, resulting in a syrup that's thicker than the sap and ready to use. Some artisanal producers bottle the boiled-down sap immediately afterward and can have it certified vegan, which helps consumers know for certain that they aren't consuming any animal products. When Is Maple Syrup Not Vegan? Some maple syrups go through additional processing before being bottled—sometimes on their way to becoming what we know as "pancake syrup." Some sugarhouses remove the foam that comes from boiling the sap by using bone char—also used in processing some white and brown sugar products—or animal fat, according to the Press-Herald in Portland, Maine. Other possible red flags are the absence of a certified-vegan label or phrases like “maple-flavored syrup” instead of “maple syrup." Consumers should also watch out for ingredient lists with several ingredients above and beyond the maple syrup—or lists that lack maple completely. Additional common culprits are if the product contains added honey or a milk-derived “butter flavor." Types of Vegan Maple Syrup These companies fully disclose that their products are vegan, from tree to bottle. Some of these products offer extra unique flavors while still including exclusively plant-based ingredients. Butternut Mountain Farm Maple SyrupLog Cabin Maple Syrup365 Everyday Value Maple SyrupPurely Canadian Maple SyrupCoombs Family Farms Maple SyrupMaple Grove Farms Maple SyrupStonewall Kitchen Maine Maple SyrupNow Real Organic Foods Maple SyrupKirkland Maple SyrupBushwick Kitchen Trees Knees Coffee Maple, Organic Maple Syrup Infused with Stumptown CoffeeBushwick Kitchen Trees Knees Spicy Maple, Organic Maple Syrup Infused with Habanero PeppersAward Winning Escuminac Great Harvest Canadian Maple SyrupWildFour Organic Maple SyrupCrown Maple Amber Color Rich Taste organic maple syrupVery Dark, Strong Taste Vermont Maple Syrup - Barred Woods Maple Products Antonio Park Amber Rich Maple SyrupBERNARD - Pure Organic Maple SyrupNokomis 100% Pure Canadian Maple SyrupWildFour Organic Maple SyrupWholesome Maple Syrup (All Varieties)Good & Gather 100% Pure Maple Syrup Types of Non-Vegan, Maple-Flavored Syrup From budget brands to high-end gourmet food companies, non-vegan maple syrups and maple-flavored syrups exist. While some products clearly state their main ingredients on the label, others require you to dive a little deeper into the list on the back of the bottle. Here are some types to avoid: Tree Hive Maple Syrup & HoneyVermont Sugar-free Syrup by Maple Grove FarmsFifty 50 Fructose Sweetened Syrup, MapleMarket Pantry Sugar Free SyrupMicheles Syrup, Butter PecanSweetLeaf Stevia Maple SyrupWalden Farms Maple Bacon SyrupBlackberry Patch Maple Praline Flavored Sugar Free Syrup Frequently Asked Questions Is maple syrup considered plant-based? Yes, maple syrup in its purest form is plant-based. However, not every "maple syrup" on the market is vegan. Double-check ingredient lists for animal products and seek out certified-vegan labels. Is butter-flavored maple syrup vegan? Probably not. In most cases, the butter flavor comes from dairy-based ingredients added to the maple syrup. Even if the syrup itself is pure and tapped from a tree, it isn't vegan with the inclusion of dairy. Why is maple syrup not raw vegan? Maple sap is cooked down into maple syrup. Without any non-vegan additives, this process and the resulting syrup is vegan. But because the sap is boiled, it cannot be considered raw vegan.