Is Creatine Vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Choosing Vegan Creatine

Learn whether all creatine supplements are vegan and which ingredients to avoid.

is creatine vegan photo illustration

Treehugger / Joshua Seong

Creatine is a combination of three amino acids: L-arginine, glycine, and L-methionine. It is naturally produced in humans' liver and kidneys to supply energy to muscles. Creatine is also supplemented in different formats; these supplements are commonly used by athletes to boost muscle performance.

Are all creatine supplements vegan? This guide will you decipher labels and ensure your creatine products are 100% plant-based.

Treehugger Tip

Creatine is naturally found in animal foods, such as meat and fish, and is hardly present in plant-based foods. Check with a medical professional before considering a creatine supplement.

Why Most Creatine Supplements Are Vegan

Naturally-occurring creatine is a chemical compound produced within the body. Creatine supplements, on the other hand, are synthetically made and almost always do not contain animal products. Most supplements are made of a combination of sarcosine and cyanamide, two organic (and vegan) molecules.

To make sure your supplement of choice is plant-based, look for a vegan certification or vegan label on the package.

When Are Creatine Supplements Not Vegan?

While most creatine is vegan, there are a few instances in which your supplement may include the use of animal products.

Vegans should be cautious of creatine supplements delivered in capsules. Often, capsules contain gelatin, which is made of ground-up animal parts. You may also want to research if a creatine supplement has been tested on animals or if any other non-vegan ingredients were involved in the production.

Vegan Creatine Powders and Formulas

Here is a (non-exhaustive) list of popular vegan creatine formulas and powders.

  • Transparent Labs Creatine HMB
  • Optimum Nutrition Creatine Powder
  • BulkSupplements Creatine Monohydrate
  • Genius Creatine Powder
  • Battle Ready Fuel
  • Crazy Muscle Creatine Monohydrate Pills
  • NOW Sports Nutrition Creatine Monohydrate Powder
  • Vedge Nutrition Creatine+
  • Kion Creatine
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Is creatine plant-based?

    Creatine in supplements is often made by synthesizing sarcosine and cyanamide, which do not contain any animal by-products and are therefore vegan.

  • Do vegans have lower creatine levels?

    Because creatine is mostly found in meat, those who follow a vegetarian and vegan diet are likely to receive lower levels of creatine. Contact a medical professional to learn more.

  • Is creatine dairy-based?

    Typically no, creatine supplements are not dairy-based.

View Article Sources
  1. Kaviani, Mojtaba, Keely Shaw, and Philip D. Chilibeck. "Benefits of Creatine Supplementation for Vegetarians Compared to Omnivorous Athletes: A Systemic Review." Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2020 May; 17(9): 3041. Published online 2020 Apr 27. doi: 10.3390/ijerph17093041