Steven Chu Announces 2013 Solar Decathlon and Its New Location, California!

Solar Decathlon - Team Belgium© Michelle Kaufmann

Today in Albuquerque, NM, Energy Secretary Steven Chu announced the 20 collegiate teams selected to compete in next years U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon. And he unveiled a new twist, the competition's location will be Orange County Great Park in Irvine, California. That is, not Washington, D.C.

So it begins...

These 20 teams from colleges and universities from around the world will begin the two-year process of building solar-powered and highly efficient homes. Along with being sexy, the homes must also be affordable and have mass consumer appeal. They will be showcased at Orange Country Great Park in the fall of 2013.

Solar Decathlon 2011: Parsons NS Stevens© Michelle Kaufmann

“As President Obama made clear in the State of the Union address this week, we need to ensure that the next generation of America’s architects, engineers and entrepreneurs have the hands-on experience and training they need to lead our nation’s clean energy future,” said Secretary Chu. “The Solar Decathlon will unleash the ingenuity, creativity and drive from these talented students to demonstrate new ideas for how families and businesses can reduce energy use and save money with clean energy products and efficient building design.”

The big news here is that the decathlon has moved! Since 2002, it has been at home in our nation's National Mall, ocurring biennially in 2005, 2007, 2009, and 2011. But now it is moving to California!

The following teams have been selected for the 2013 competition:

  • Arizona State University and the University of New Mexico (Tempe, Ariz., and Albuquerque, N.M.)
  • Czech Technical University (Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Hampton University and Old Dominion University (Hampton and Norfolk, Va.)
  • Middlebury College (Middlebury, Vt.)
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology (Rolla, Mo.)
  • Norwich University (Northfield, Vt.)
  • Queens University, Carleton University, and Algonquin College (Kingston and Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
  • Santa Clara University (Santa Clara, Calif.)
  • Southern California Institute of Architecture and California Institute of Technology (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Stanford University (Palo Alto, Calif.)
  • Stevens Institute of Technology (Hoboken, N.J.)
  • The Catholic University of America, George Washington University, and American University (Washington, DC)
  • The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, N.C.)
  • The University of Texas at El Paso and El Paso Community College (El Paso, Texas)
  • University of Calgary (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
  • University of Louisville, Ball State University and University of Kentucky (Louisville, Ky.; Muncie, Ind.; and Lexington, Ky.)
  • University of Nevada Las Vegas (Las Vegas, Nev.)
  • University of Southern California (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Vienna University of Technology (Vienna, Austria)
  • West Virginia University (Morgantown, W. Va.)

Follow me @jerryjamesstone or subscribe to my Facebook posts for more stories like this.

Related Content on