The Earth Awards Launches a Global Search for Sustainable Innovations

the earth awards photo

Image credit: The Earth Awards

From March 3rd to May 10th, submissions are open for the 2010 Earth Awards—an opportunity for innovative designers to win between $10,000 and $50,000. Awards will be handed out at a ceremony in London on September 16th, 2010.Submissions will be judged by an illustrious panel that includes Yves Behar, Richard Branson, David DeRothschild, Bill McKibben, and TreeHugger Founder Graham Hill.

Designs must fit into one of six categories—Built Environment, Fashion, Products, Systems, Future and Social Justice—and will be judged on achievability,
scalability, measurablility, usefulness, originality, ecological value.

For more information, visit
Read more about sustainable design:
10 Commandments of (Sustainable) Design
Allan Chochinov's 10 Steps for Sustainable Design
What Truly Defines Sustainable Design?