Ten Attorneys General Sue the EPA for Refusing to Act on Global Warming


The Attorneys General of nine states and the District of Columbia sued the federal Environmental Protection Agency last Thursday for failing to regulate CO2 emissions from power plants and violating the clean air act. By law the EPA is required to review and revise emissions standards every eight years, however the round of revisions that happened this February made no regulations for carbon dioxide. The EPA "refused to regulate carbon dioxide, despite overwhelming research and scientific consensus that carbon dioxide contributes to global warming and thus harms "public health and welfare,"" said the press release. New York, California, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Wisconsin, and DC filed the suit jointly. New York's Attorney General, Eliot Spitzer called the decision an "abdication of leadership and foresight in favor of the unacceptable status quo." :: NY Attorney General's Office via Green Car Congress (Image credit: The Sierra Club)