New York City to Expand 20 MPH 'Slow Zones' to 13 Neighborhoods

A More People-Friendly NYC

What has begun in the Claremont section of the Bronx is now expanding over to new neighborhoods all over New York City. Michael Bloomberg and the NYC DOT have announced that the 13 new zones are:

  • The Bronx: Mt. Eden, Baychester, Eastchester, Riverdale
  • Brooklyn: Boerum Hill
  • Manhattan: Inwood
  • Queens: Corona, Elmhurst, Jackson Heights/East Elmhurst, Auburndale
  • Staten Island: New Brighton/St. George, Dongan Hills, Rosebank

In each slow zone, the speed limit is reduced to 20 mph and low-cost safety improvements like speed humps help regulate motorist behavior. “Slow zones send a strong message to drivers that these streets are not shortcuts,” said Sadik-Khan, noting that about 60 traffic deaths in the city each year are attributable to motorist speed. The safety benefits of capping vehicle speeds at 20 mph are tremendous, she said, with pedestrian survival rates at 95 percent in the event of a crash at that speed. Pedestrian survival rates at 30 mph are 60 percent, according to America Walks [PDF].

This is a great way to help make the city safer for pedestrians and cyclists, and to push citizens toward modes of transportation that make more sense in a city as dense as New York.

And this is just a start; the NYC DOT has received more than 100 applications for 'slow zones', and more new zones should be announced in the near future.

Via Streetsblog

See also: How Copenhagen Bike-Culture is Inspiring NYC

Related Content on