Home & Garden Home Are Potato Chips Vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Plant-Based Potato Chips Because you can never eat just one, take note of which potato chips are vegan. By Elyse Glickman Elyse Glickman Writer Elyse has nearly 20 years of experience in the field of food and drink writing and journalism. In addition to contributing to a variety of food, nutrition, and travel publications, she has developed and managed her own publication, Liquid Living, focused on home entertaining. Learn about our editorial process Updated May 19, 2022 Treehugger / Joshua Seong Share Twitter Pinterest Email Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand When Are Potato Chips Vegan? When Are Potato Chips Not Vegan? Types of Vegan Potato Chips Types of Non-Vegan Potato Chips Frequently Asked Questions Potato chips are the ultimate crowd-pleasing snack. Chip types run the gamut from original to spicy and sweet, from baked varieties to kettle-cooked goodness. While there are some obvious flavors vegans should avoid—we're looking at you, Cheddar Cheese Pringles—it’s often worth it to look at the ingredients to make sure there aren't any surprise animal products. Here, we'll help you navigate all the popular brands and chip styles out there, so you can know for sure what's vegan and when to take your crunch elsewhere. When Are Potato Chips Vegan? Basic potato chips are made by slicing potatoes thin, washing starch off the surface, blanching the slices, and either deep-frying them in vegetable oil or baking them in an oven. Next, the chips are cooled, seasoned, and sorted. Some chip varieties are set aside to be tumbled in a drum filled with the desired powdered seasoning. For certain flavored chips, this last step is typically when they stop being vegan. Generally, "less is more" is our mantra when it comes to vegan potato chips. The widely hailed "LAYS Classic Original" chips contain potatoes, vegetable oil, and salt—none of which are animal-derived. Alas, many varieties with added ingredients and seasonings can still be vegan. When Are Potato Chips Not Vegan? Some flavored potato chips can contain animal-derived ingredients like dairy and honey. They are even some meat-based flavorings, like maple bacon. Make sure to look for the phrase "may contain milk" particularly on salt and vinegar chip bags, which are likely to include lactose or milk as a blending agent to quell some of the vinegar's acidity. Vegan chip lovers should also watch out for chips that are fried in animal fat. In addition, there is an ongoing debate about whether anything that contains "natural flavors" is truly plant-based. Those concerned should dig into why particular companies include this phrase and what it means for them. Types of Vegan Potato Chips This is just a mere sampling of the many vegan-friendly chips, some with seemingly forbidden flavors achieved by the magic of salts, herbs, and spices. LAYs Original BakedLAY’s Classic Potato ChipsLAY’s BBQ Potato ChipsLAY’s Salt & Vinegar Potato ChipsLAY’s Limón Potato ChipsLAY’s Dill Pickle Potato ChipsLAY’s Chesapeake Bay Crab Spice Potato ChipsLAY’s Lightly Salted Potato ChipsLAY’s Lightly Salted BBQ Potato ChipsLAY’s Simple Sea Salt Thick Cut Potato ChipsLAY’s Simply BBQ Thick Cut Potato ChipsLAY’s Baked Original Potato CrispsLAY’s Kettle Cooked Original Potato ChipsLAY’s Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Original Potato ChipsLAY’s Kettle Cooked Sea Salt & Cracked Pepper Potato ChipsLAY’s Poppables Sea Salt Potato SnacksLAY’s Stax Original Potato CrispsLAY’s Wavy Original Potato ChipsLAY’s Wavy Sea Salt & Pepper Potato ChipsLAY’s Wavy Reduced Fat Orignal Potato ChipsLAY’s Wavy Lightly Salted Potato ChipsPringles Original, Tangy Buffalo WingRuffles Original, Tapatio Limon,Kettle Brand Potato Chips Maple BaconKettle Brand Bourbon BBQKettle Brand Fiery Thai (cooked in 100% almond oil)Kettle Brand Backyard BarbequeKettle Brand Sea SaltKettle Brand 40% Less Fat Potato Chips, Sea SaltEarth Balance Vegan Cheddar Potato ChipsEarth Balance Vegan Sour Cream and Onion Kettle ChipsCape Cod Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea Salt and Vinegar, Sweet & Spicy Jalapeño,Muncho's Flamin' Hot Potato ChipsPopchips Sea Salt PotatoPopchips Barbeque PotatoGarden of Eatin' Blue ChipsGood Health Kettle Style Avocado Oil Potato Chips With Sea Salt7 Eleven Select Kettle Style Salt And Vinegar Chips Types of Non-Vegan Potato Chips Pringles Salt & Vinegar chips are not vegan. Justin Sullivan / Getty Images On the flip side of chips, there are also varieties within this list you may be surprised do have dairy and other animal-based flavoring agents. LAY’s Cheddar and Sour CreamLAY’s Chile LimonLAY’s Flamin’ HotLAY’s Honey BBQLAY’s Sea Salt and VinegarLAY’s Sweet Southern Heat BarbequeLAY’s Baked BarbecueLAY’s Baked Sour Cream & OnionKettle Cooked Lays Honey ChipotleKettle Cooked Lays JalapeñoKettle Cooked Lays Maui OnionKettle Cooked Lays Mesquite BBQKettle Cooked Lays Sea Salt and VinegarGrandma Utz Potato ChipsGood's Potato ChipsPringles Cheddar CheesePringles Sour Cream & OnionPringles Salt And Vinegar Potato CrispsThe Lay’s Kettle Cooked Sea Salt & Vinegar ChipsDirty Kettle Chips Bag, Sea Salt And Vinegar chipsMiss Vickie’s Sea Salt Vinegar Flavored Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Herr’s Salt Vinegar Potato Chips Frequently Asked Questions Are LAY's BBQ flavored chips vegan? Yes! LAY's and several other brands achieve that tangy, spicy barbecue flavor through proprietary mixes of seasonings that are not animal-based. Are Lay's Sea Salt and Vinegar flavored chips vegan? No. In fact, several brands' "Sea Salt and Vinegar" flavored chips (Kettle Cooked, LAY's, Pringles) are not vegan because they contain dairy additives like buttermilk and lactose.