2008 DWR Champagne Chair Contest: And the Winners Are...

The (organic?) bubbly has been popped, the champagne drunk, and designs of all shapes inspired. And after 500 entries came in from all over the planet -- in digital form, thankfully, to save on shipping and packaging -- the winners of the DWR Champagne Chair Contest have been announced (we announced it late last year). Grand Prize goes to Miwa Kleyla's Block B Chair (above, left); Staff Favorite goes to Matthew Glaysher's Weekend Bender (love the name -- above, center) and the Popular Vote goes to Akai Yang's 2-Player (above, right). Congrats to all!

The fifth annual contest asked cork and chair design fans around the globe to create an original miniature chair from nothing more than the wire, cork, cage and foil of no more than two champagne bottles (though glue was permitted, as an adhesive). The top 50 designs are hitting the road, embarking on a national tour that'll go from New York to Oregon from now until mid-May; hit the jump to see locations and dates for each of the stops. ::Design Within Reach 2008 Champagne Chair ContestBrooklyn -- Tuesday, February 12
Greenwich -- Wednesday, February 13
Providence -- Thursday, February 21
Adams Morgan -- Monday, February 25
Princeton -- Thursday, February 28
Charlotte -- Wednesday, March 5
West Palm Beach -- Tuesday, March 11
Boulder -- Monday, March 17
Southlake -- Thursday, March 20
Columbus -- Tuesday, March 25
Evanston -- Saturday, March 29
St. Louis -- Thursday, April 3
Milwaukee -- Tuesday, April 8
New Orleans -- Monday, April 14
Las Vegas Boca Park -- Thursday, April 17
San Diego -- Tuesday, April 22
Manhattan Beach -- Monday, April 28
Santa Barbara -- Thursday, May 1
Sacramento -- Tuesday, May 6
San Jose -- Monday, May 12
Tigard -- Saturday, May 17

Tags: Chairs | Cork | Design Competitions